Call for Best Process Mining Dissertation Award

Applications are sought from recent recipients of a doctoral degree for the 2018 edition of the best dissertation award in the field of process mining. The award will be delivered at the 1st International Conference on Process Mining (ICPM’2019) on 24-26 June 2019.


Eligible candidates are those who officially obtained a PhD degree in 2018 based on a doctoral dissertation pertaining to the field of process mining. The term process mining in this setting is interpreted broadly: The use of data produced during the execution of business, software, or system processes, in order to extract knowledge or insights to manage these processes.


The winner will receive the award at the ICPM’2019 Conference in Aachen, Germany. The award is connected with a monetary prize (exact amount to be announced later) and a free registration to the ICPM conference. The winner is also offered the option to publish the dissertation thesis in Springer’s LNBIP series.

Nomination and Submission

Candidates are nominated by their primary supervisor via a nomination letter. Each professor (supervisor or co-supervisor) is only allowed to nominate one candidate. The candidate is responsible for submitting the nomination material via Easychair:

The submission must include the following documents concatenated in a single PDF file (preferred option) or zipped in a single package:

  1. An extended abstract of the thesis (3-5 pages)
  2. Nomination letter by supervisor (1-2 pages)
  3. PhD evaluation report including the reviews of the dissertation
  4. CV of the candidate including publication list
  5. Full document of the dissertation

Questions and enquiries can be directed to the chairperson of the jury: Marlon Dumas,

Selection Process

The winner of the award will be determined in two steps. First, the jury will evaluate the submission material and identify a short list of three candidates. Second, these three candidates will be invited to give a presentation of their work in an online session with the jury. The jury will then select the winner. The selection will be based on the following criteria:

  • Originality and depth of contribution,
  • Methodological soundness,
  • Form and quality of presentation, and
  • Significance for the research field.

Important Dates

  • 21 January 2019: Deadline for submission of thesis
  • 25  February 2019: Notification of short-listing
  • 11-15 March 2019: Online session with short-listed candidates
  • The Notification of the winner will be at the ICPM’2019 Conference


  • Robin Bergenthum, University of Hagen, Germany
  • Chiara Di Francescomarino, FBK, Italy
  • Marlon Dumas (Chair), University of Tartu, Estonia
  • Walid Gaaloul, Télécom Sudparis, France
  • Marcos Sepúlveda, PUC, Chile
  • Alessandro Sperduti, University of Padova, Italy
  • Jan Martijn van der Werf, Utrecht University, The Netherlands